George Strait to Receive CRB Career Achievement Award

George Strait

NASHVILLE, TN – SEPTEMBER 26: Country Superstar George Strait announces The Cowboy Rides Away 2012-2014 final tour on September 26, 2012 at The Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum/Ford Theater in Nashville, Tennessee. (Photo by Rick Diamond/Getty Images for George Strait)

George Strait will receive the 2013 CRB Career Achievement Award at the Country Radio Hall of Fame Induction on Tuesday, February 26. The award is presented to an artist or act that has made a significant contribution to the development and promotion of country music and country radio through creativity, vision, performance or leadership. George’s career in country music spans more than 30 years.

“It’s been a great career and I think one of the reasons is I’ve always been fortunate enough to have good people around me and good people to work with,” George said. “Very loyal people that I get good advice from and bounce ideas off of and know that I can count on. You know you can’t do it by yourself. You can do a lot, but you can’t do it all.”

“George Strait has done a superb job promoting country music and country radio over the years,” Mike Culotta, CRS President, said. “His dedication to the format and ongoing contribution to the industry as a whole make him the perfect recipient for this award.”

George has more No. 1 singles than any artist in history, including Elvis Presley. He has sold nearly 69 million records and has the most RIAA platinum certifications in country music and the third in all genres behind The Beatles and Elvis. He is the only artist to have 85 out of 90 radio singles make it to Top 10 and 24 albums at the number one position on Billboard’s Country Music Album Chart. He was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2006.

The evening will also feature Gaylan Christie being inducted into the Country Radio Hall of Fame and Dr. Don Carpenter, Crook & Chase, Eddie Edwards and Bill “Dex” Poindexter will be inducted in the Air Personality category. Bob Romeo will receive the 2013 Presidents’ Award. The Country Radio Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremony unofficially kicks off Country Radio Seminar each year.

Previous winners of the Career Achievement Award include Brooks and Dunn, Kenny Rogers, Charlie Daniels, Dolly Parton and Reba McEntire.



Comments are closed.