Dierks Bentley & Chris Young Among CMA Triple Play Award Recipients

CMA Triple Play Awards

Back row (l-r): CMA Board President, Ed Hardy; Neil Thrasher; Rodney Clawson; Ben Hayslip; CMA Chief Executive Officer, Steve Moore; Josh Kear; CMA Board Chairman, Troy Tomlinson; and Brantley Gilbert. Front row (l-r): Eric Paslay; Dierks Bentley; Shane McAnally; and Chris Young. Photo by Donn Jones/CMA.

Dierks Bentley, Chris Young and Eric Church were among a dozen songwriters honored at the annual CMA Songwriters Luncheon. They were each presented with the CMA Triple Play Award honoring songwriters who pen three chart-topping hits in a 12-month period.

“People from all over the world recognize that Nashville is not only Music City, but the epicenter of the songwriting community,” Troy Tomlinson, President and CEO, Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville, said. “CMA celebrates this important membership group. The presentation of the Triple Play Awards is just another example of CMA’s commitment to honoring the creators of song.”

“Nashville is legendary for its songwriters and CMA is proud to recognize this important segment of our industry,” Steve Moore, CMA Chief Executive Officer, said. “It is an honor to present these songwriters and songwriting artists with the Triple Play Award and acknowledge this incredible accomplishment and their significant contributions to our format.”

“I’m so grateful to be a part of the Nashville family,” Eric Paslay said of receiving the honor. “One of my biggest dreams was to have a song on Country radio. Getting a No. 1 was sugar on top. Being honored by the CMA with a Triple Play Award has made 2012 the sweetest year of my life so far!”

During the luncheon, Troy Tomlinson also presented a $250,000 donation from the CMA Foundation to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation to help construct the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame at the new Music City Center.

In alphabetical order, the recipients of CMA’s Triple Play Award:

  • Dierks Bentley: “Am I The Only One,” “Home,” “5-1-5-0”
  • Rodney Clawson: “Drink On It,” “Drunk On You,” “Take A Little Ride”
  • Eric Church: “Drink In My Hand,” “Springsteen,” “Creepin’”
  • Brantley Gilbert: “Dirt Road Anthem,” “Country Must Be Country Wide” “You Don’t Know Her Like I Do”
  • Ben Hayslip: “Honey Bee,” “I Don’t Want This Night To End,” “I’m Gonna Love You Through It”
  • Dave Haywood: “Just A Kiss,” “We Owned The Night,” “Dancin’ Away With My Heart”
  • Josh Kear: “Dancin’ Away With My Heart,” “Drunk On You,” “Blown Away”
  • Charles Kelley: “Just A Kiss,” “We Owned The Night.” “Dancin’ Away With My Heart”
  • Shane McAnally: “Alone With You,” “Come Over,” “Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye”
  • Eric Paslay: “Barefoot Blue Jean Night,” “Even If It Breaks Your Heart,” “Angel Eyes”
  • Neil Thrasher: “Tattoos On This Town,” “Banjo,” “Fly Over States”
  • Chris Young: “Voices,” “Tomorrow,” “You”


SOURCE: http://blog.gactv.com/blog/2013/01/31/dierks-bentley-chris-young-among-cma-triple-play-award-recipients/

Comments are closed.